Christmas 2014: How Free Web Hosting Made My Christmas Memorable.

Every year, twelve days are singled out for a gallant festivity. Twelve happy days that surpass the roasted turkey of Thanksgiving and the lousy trumpets of Homecoming. Twelve days during which the trees get lit with green, red and yellow bulbs. Twelve days for which numerous carol songs were written for. Within the same twelve days, families settle their differences, singles take vows to live as couples, beautiful babies get introduced into the world. Everyone everywhere in the world marks the remembrance of the birth of a man who once lived amongst us 2014 years ago and is expected to come again as believed by Christians.

christmas wishes from Emmanuel A.

Forgive me for not writing a Merry Christmas post on Christmas Day. As a bachelor, I was caught up with cleaning my apartment, doing my laundry, preparing dishes and being hospitable to my visiting friends and relatives. Can I ask you how you celebrated Christmas? Well, mine wasn’t too spectacular, don’t want to bore you with the details of my not too flamboyant Christmas, but I think the coolest thing I did this Christmas was purchasing a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 2014 edition. The Air Command and S Pen and wider screen are just a few things  that I like about the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 2014 edition . Besides that, there are some special tweaks that came with my new Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 compared to my handy Samsung Galaxy SIII which I’ve enjoyed using for well over two years. It all boils down to you expecting more mind-blowing articles on-the-go from now on as long as my job and time permit.

Besides the eating, drinking and dancing, my worst experience during this Christmas was trying to set up a self hosted WordPress blog after receiving a free web hosting for life offer via an email invite from a friend. I spent over three hours trying to do this without any success. I did get a hosting account setup, used the Auto Installer to install WordPress 4.01.  I even went as far as using a FTP software to install the latest WordPress 4.1 update after deleting the first installation and creating a new MySQL database which I did successfully. However, every time I tried to log in, I kept getting redirected back to the login page after logging in to the dashboard. A dashboard I never saw! I am stuck with WordPress.com on which this blog is hosted freely on and I will try to optimize it to my very best.

Accomplishments: Though I wasted a lot of time trying to set up a self hosted WordPress site, I managed to accomplish the following within the 24th and 27th of this month:

  • Completed Lynda.com’s 2014 Affiliate Marketing Course,
  • Watched the 4 hours video training of High Traffic Academy on Affiliate marketing and traffic generation,
  • Learnt how to set up Facebook targeted ads and run profitable campaigns,
  • Updated some softwares on my Toshiba Laptop and completed some pending 2D design projects,
  • Perfected my recipe for a local Nigerian snack called ‘chin chin’.

 Nigerian snack Chinchin i made

I make it a habit to learn something whether new, old or revised daily and I oblige you to do the same because Knowledge Is Power. I’m currently reading a book by Stephen Convey titled “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change“. It’s a very educating book if you choose to change your ways in 2015.

It’s never too late to wish you my beloved readers a very Merry Christmas and a well garnished prosperous New Year. As we gradually close the curtains of 2014, do good to evaluate the way you lived your life in 2014 and optimize it to achieve a healthier and more fulfilling life come 2015.

2 thoughts on “Christmas 2014: How Free Web Hosting Made My Christmas Memorable.

Leave a Reply

